Welcome to the
Brooklyn Centre WIKI

Cleveland, Ohio

A Neighborhood Exploration
Currently 301 articles regarding its history


George D. Sheer Iron Works

From Brooklyn Centre Wiki

Revision as of 15:28, 1 April 2009 by Sandy (Talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search
The Sheer Iron Works factory at the corner of W.25th and Forestdale Ave. (1896)
The Sheer Iron Works factory at the corner of W.25th and Forestdale Ave. (1896)
George D. Sheer Iron Works (ad from 1917)
George D. Sheer Iron Works (ad from 1917)
Platmap showing Sheer's ownership of the ravine
Platmap showing Sheer's ownership of the ravine

Owner:

George Dennis Sheer (1864-1937)

Location:

3739 West 25th Street -- formerly 1808-1810 Pearl St.

History:

Established in 1893 as the Brooklyn Iron Works. Sheer then bought out the F.F. Merritt Fence Works and consolidated.[1]. George was partners with his brothers, William, Lee, John and Eli, until his retirement in 1927. The company remained in operation until 1940.
George and his wife, Rose, lived at 3745 West 18th St. In the nearby vicinity, just south of his house, was the large ravine that later became the East Denison playground. Sheer owned a large section of that ravine including "Block M" of the Park Addition. He later sold most of it to the Cleveland Railway.


The Rosesheer Block was named for George's wife, Rose (Biddulph) Sheer. Built at 1820 Pearl Street (old-style addressing), it was destroyed by fire in the 1980's.

References

  1. Cleveland : its aim, progress, perseverance and public spirit , Cleveland, Ohio: unknown, 1897, 185 pgs; pg 67.
    The Sheer brothers manufactured iron fences, gates, grillwork, balconies, window guards, fire escapes, and light industrial iron for buildings.<ref>''Ohio Architects and Builders'', 26 July 1915, Vol. XXVI No.1, pg 63</li></ol></ref>
Return to Main Page



Help support this website by visiting some of the Ads provided by Google.

Personal tools