From Brooklyn Centre Wiki
- John E. Gooding
- Western terminus of Puritas Avenue (see map below)
About the Park:
- Puritas Springs Amusement Park opened in 1898 and closed down in 1958. It was, at one time, a destination where one could obtain bottled spring water from artesian wells.
- Puritas Springs park was closed in 1958, due to decreasing attendance, when the Gooding family sold the property to developers. Some rides, including the merry-go-round, were sold and transported to other amusement parks.
- The park featured an infamous roller coaster, the Cyclone, that dipped down into the valley and then back up again. A carousel was obtained from Luna Park when it closed down in 1929.
- A skating rink and dance hall were also on the grounds.
- Fires in 1946, which destroyed the dance hall, and later a major fire occurred on the site in May 1959, destroying and damaging several structures and remaining rides.
- For further information about this park, visit Jim Barrick's website dedicated to John E. Miller, designer and builder of roller coasters. He includes a fascinating virtual ride on the Cyclone which was provided by Jim Kelly.
- The West Park Historical Society graciously provided the following images for use here. Visit their website to view more and/or to buy the 2009 Puritas Springs calendar.
Buy the 2009 Puritas Springs Park calendar at the West Park Historical Society website.